Today

The Otolith Group: Infinity Minus Infinity

Online Lecture, 21 January 2021, 19:00

Ongoing

Winter semester 2020/21

Information, 2 November 2020 – 19 February 2021

Hygiene Concept of the Städelschule

Information, 2 November 2020 – 19 February 2021

Coronavirus/COVID-19: Taking measures and getting tips

Information, 2 November 2020 – 19 February 2021

Lectures Winter Semester 2020/21

Online Lecture, 4 November 2020 – 16 February 2021

Guidelines on General Equality

Information, 9 November 2020 – 9 November 2030

Upcoming: next month PreviousNext

Archive: 2021 NextPrevious

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Lecture, 19 January 2021, 19:00

Jason Mohaghegh: Dreams of the Last King

Online Lecture, 12 January 2021, 19:00

Hajra Waheed "HUM" at Portikus

Exhibition11 July – 6 September 2020Portikus, Alte Brücke 2 / Maininsel, 60594 Frankfurt am Main
Hajra Waheed, Untitled (2019), Edition 1/6, Etching on Paper, 9 x 12 in, courtesy of the Artist, photo: Paul LitherlandHajra Waheed, Untitled (2019), Edition 1/6, Etching on Paper, 9 x 12 in, courtesy of the Artist, photo: Paul Litherland

For her upcoming solo exhibition at Portikus, Hajra Waheed realises an indoor site specific iteration of Hum (2020). 

Hum (2020) is a large scale multi-channel musical composition and sound installation that employs the ubiquitous yet overlooked medium of humming as a means to explore radical forms of collective and sonic agency. The work’s title, which translates to “We” in Urdu, reflects on international solidarity movements that emerged in the second half of the 20th century during processes of decolonization in the Global South. Driven by the need to critically engage these histories and reflect on their implications for our time, the composition features eight hummed songs of resistance from South, Central, West Asia and Africa. Shared across each of these hummed verses are stories of struggle against state oppression, the rise of authoritarianism and the plight and hope of working people, the marginalized and dispossessed. All of these songs are being resurrected in social movements today. 

Hum was initially created upon invitation for Lahore Biennial 02 and shown within Lahore Fort’s historic Diwaan-i-Aam. Built by Shah Jahan in 1628 and styled after Isfahan’s Chehel Sotoun, a forty-pillar audience hall, Diwaan-i-Aam was initially conceived as a space for the public to air their grievances. Humming as a medium, meditation, phenomena and language of resistance, cuts across a crisis of hardened differences, challenging border constructions and for a moment, transforming divisions around ethnic, religious, linguistic and national affiliations into a larger call for solidarity. 

Read more

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Heute

The Otolith Group: Infinity Minus Infinity

Online Vortrag, 21. Januar 2021, 19:00

Ongoing

Wintersemester 2020/21

Information, 2. November 2020 – 19. Februar 2021

Hygienekonzept der Städelschule

Information, 2. November 2020 – 19. Februar 2021

Coronavirus/COVID-19: Maßnahmen und Tipps

Information, 2. November 2020 – 19. Februar 2021

Vortragsreihe Wintersemester 2020/21

Online Vortrag, 4. November 2020 – 16. Februar 2021

Richtlinie zur Allgemeinen Gleichbehandlung

Information, 9. November 2020 – 9. November 2030

Demnächst: nächsten Monat PreviousNext

Archiv: 2021 NextPrevious

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Vortrag, 19. Januar 2021, 19:00

Jason Mohaghegh: Dreams of the Last King

Online Vortrag, 12. Januar 2021, 19:00

Hajra Waheed "HUM" im Portikus

Ausstellung11. Juli – 6. September 2020Portikus, Alte Brücke 2 / Maininsel, 60594 Frankfurt am Main
Hajra Waheed, Ohne Titel (2019), Edition 1/6, Radierung auf Papier, 23 x 31 cm, courtesy of the Artist, photo: Paul LitherlandHajra Waheed, Ohne Titel (2019), Edition 1/6, Radierung auf Papier, 23 x 31 cm, courtesy of the Artist, photo: Paul Litherland

In ihrer kommenden Einzelausstellung im Portikus präsentiert die in Kanada lebende Künstlerin Hajra Waheed eine ortsspezifische Iteration ihrer jüngsten Klangarbeit Hum

Als mehrkanalige Musikkomposition und Klanginstallation nutzt Hum (2020) das Medium des allgegenwärtigen und doch meist überhörten Summens als Mittel zur Erforschung radikaler Formen kollektiver und akustischer Handlungsfähigkeit. Der Titel der Arbeit, der in Urdu mit "Wir" übersetzt wird, bezieht sich auf internationale Solidaritäts-bewegungen, die in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts während des Prozesses der Dekolonisierung im Globalen Süden formiert haben. Durch die Notwendigkeit sich kritisch mit dieser Geschichte auseinanderzusetzen und über deren Auswirkung auf unsere Zeit nachzudenken, vereint die Arbeit acht gesummte Lieder des Widerstands aus Afrika, Süd-, Zentral- und Westasien in einer Komposition. Jedem dieser gesummten Verse liegen Geschichten über den Kampf gegen staatliche Unterdrückung, Autoritarismus und die Not und Hoffnung der Arbeiterklasse, der Marginalisierten und Enteigneten zugrunde. All diese Lieder werden auch heute noch in gesellschaftlichen Protestbewegungen gesungen.

Hum (2020) wurde ursprünglich für die Lahore Biennale 02 geschaffen und im historischen Diwaan-i-Aam im Lahore Fort gezeigt. Diwaan-i-Aam wurde 1628 von Shah Jahan erbaut und nach dem Vorbild von Isfahans Chehel Sotoun, einem Auditorium mit vierzig Säulen, gestaltet. Diwaan-i-Aam war ursprünglich als ein Raum konzipiert, in dem die Öffentlichkeit ihre Beschwerden vorbringen konnte. Die Betonung unseres Rechts auf freie Meinungs-äußerung, das Summen als Medium, die Meditation, die Phänomene und die Sprache des Widerstands durchbrechen eine Krise verhärteter Differenzen, stellen Grenz-konstruktionen in Frage und verwandeln für einen Moment die Spaltungen über ethnische, religiöse, sprachliche und nationale Zugehörigkeiten in einen Aufruf zur Solidarität. 


Weiterlesen

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum