Today

Ongoing

Jochen Lempert at Portikus

Exhibition, 12 March – 5 June 2022

Summer semester 2022

Information, 11 April – 15 July 2022

Lectures Summer Semester 2022

Lecture, 26 April – 28 June 2022, 19:00

HYGIENE CONCEPT

Information, 9 May – 30 September 2022

Upcoming: next month PreviousNext

Asad Raza "Diversion" at Portikus

Exhibition, 25 June – 25 September 2022

Archive: 2022 NextPrevious

Lecture: Neïl Beloufa

Lecture, 10 May 2022, 19:00

Daniel Birnbaum: Notes on the frames of art

Event, 10 April 2022, 15:00–17:00

Term break 2022

Information, 21 February – 10 April 2022

Rundgang Award Winners

Information, 18 – 20 February 2022

Judith Hopf Class: Grand Nizza Show

Class Project, 18 February – 11 March 2022

Rundgang 2022

Exhibition, 18 – 20 February 2022, 10:00–20:00

Pan Daijing

Online Lecture, 10 February 2022

Jordy Rosenberg: Lift Rift

Online Lecture, 2 February 2022

Ulrike Müller: Moving More Parts

Online Lecture, 25 January 2022

Park McArthur

Online Lecture, 18 January 2022

Sam Durant: Public Discourse?

Online Lecture, 11 January 2022

Angela Lühning, Carl Haarnack, Willem de Rooij: Pierre Verger in Suriname

Online Lecture4 November 2020, 19:00online
Pierre Verger – Hindou, Paramaribo, Suriname, 1948, copyright: Pierre Verger Foundation, Salvador da Bahia, BrazilPierre Verger – Hindou, Paramaribo, Suriname, 1948, copyright: Pierre Verger Foundation, Salvador da Bahia, Brazil

Speakers: 
Angela Lühning – director Pierre Verger Foundation, Salvador da Bahia
Carl Haarnack – curator, writer, and archivist, founder of Buku - Bibliotheca Surinamica, Amsterdam
Willem de Rooij – artist and educator, Berlin

Moderation:  
Oliver Hardt – filmmaker, Frankfurt am Main

Registration

Photographer, ethnologist, and babalawo Pierre Fátúmbí Verger (1902, Paris–1996, Salvador de Bahia) studied the relationships between cultures of the African diaspora and those of West Africa. In 1948, during an eight-day trip through Suriname, Verger made 257 photographs that today are kept in the Pierre Verger Foundation in Salvador da Bahia. How do these photographs relate both to the greater archive of images made in Suriname and also to Pierre Verger’s life’s work? And what does it mean for these images to be shown and seen in the context of contemporary art?

The exhibition Pierre Verger in Suriname by Willem de Rooij will be on view at Portikus, featuring a new installation in which de Rooij connects spectators and Verger’s images by means of a viewing device. A catalogue designed by Ronnie Fueglister with essays by Karin Amatmoekrim, Ayrson Heraclito, Philippe Pirotte, Willem de Rooij, Richard Price, and Gloria Wekker makes the complete suite of images accessible to a larger public for the first time.

Angela Lühning is the honorary director of the Pierre Verger Foundation where she has worked since its founding in 1988. In this capacity, she is committed to researching Pierre Fátúmbí Verger, helping interested researchers, and taking care of the archive. Furthermore, she develops courses for children and youth from the neighborhoods surrounding the archive, so they can experience and learn about different means of expression in Afro-Brazilian culture. Professionally, Lühning has been working as a musical ethnologist at the School of Music of the Federal University of Bahia (UFBA) since 1990, where she studies the musical diversity of Brazilian culture.

Carl Haarnack studied Political Science at the University of Amsterdam. He is the founder of Buku - Bibliotheca Surinamica, a bibliophile collection of antique books about Suriname. He writes for the magazine Parbode and the website www.buku.nl. He also publishes articles on the history of Suriname and colonial heritage. Haarnack is coauthor of Black is Beautiful, Rubens to Dumas (2008). He worked as a curator on the exhibition Slavery Depicted at the Special Collections of the University of Amsterdam in 2013. In 2019/2020 Haarnack was an advisor to the Grote Suriname exhibition in the Nieuwe Kerk in Amsterdam. In 2017 he published “Nachrichten von Surinam: Representations of a Dutch Colony in German Travel Literature”, in Travel Writing in Dutch and German, Routledge, 2017.

Oliver Hardt is a director and filmmaker based in Frankfurt am Main. In his documentaries, he frequently addresses the cultural dynamics of the African Diaspora with a strong emphasis on architecture, design and contemporary art. His filmography includes Black Deutschland, a cinematic exploration of Black life in Germany; The United States of Hoodoo, a road trip to the spiritual sources of African-American music and visual culture; David Adjaye – Collaborations, a portrait of the Ghanaian-British architect through the eyes of his friends, mentors, and collaborators; and most recently The Black Museum, a feature documentary about the new National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington D.C.

Willem de Rooij investigates the workings of images through a variety of media. Collaborations and appropriations inform his artistic method, and his work has stimulated research in art history and ethnography. De Rooij mentors at Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main; Rijksakademie, Amsterdam; and BPA // Berlin program for artists, which he cofounded. He was a DAAD artist-in-residence in Berlin and a Robert Fulton Fellow at Harvard. He represented the Netherlands at the 51st Venice Biennale together with Jeroen de Rijke, his collaborator from 1994–2006. Recent institutional solo exhibitions were staged at KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin; IMA Brisbane; Museum MMK für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt am Main; Le Consortium, Dijon and the Jewish Museum, New York. Recent group exhibitions include the BDL Museum, Mumbai; the Hammer Museum, Los Angeles; the Jakarta Biennale; EVA International – Ireland's Biennial, Limerick; the 10th Shanghai Biennale and Raw Material Company, Dakar. Museum collections include Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; mumok, Vienna; Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin; Centre Pompidou, Paris; MoMA, New York; and MOCA, Los Angeles.

Ongoing

Wintersemester 2020/21

Information, 2. November 2020 – 19. Februar 2021

Hygienekonzept der Städelschule

Information, 2. November 2020 – 19. Februar 2021

Coronavirus/COVID-19: Maßnahmen und Tipps

Information, 2. November 2020 – 19. Februar 2021

Vortragsreihe Wintersemester 2020/21

Online Vortrag, 4. November 2020 – 16. Februar 2021

Richtlinie zur Allgemeinen Gleichbehandlung

Information, 9. November 2020 – 9. November 2030

Demnächst: nächsten Monat PreviousNext

Archiv: 2021 NextPrevious

Jason Mohaghegh: Dreams of the Last King

Online Vortrag, 12. Januar 2021, 19:00

Angela Lühning, Carl Haarnack, Willem de Rooij: Pierre Verger in Suriname

Online Vortrag4. November 2020, 19:00online
Pierre Verger – Hindou, Paramaribo, Suriname, 1948, copyright: Pierre Verger Foundation, Salvador da Bahia, BrazilPierre Verger – Hindou, Paramaribo, Suriname, 1948, copyright: Pierre Verger Foundation, Salvador da Bahia, Brazil

Sprecher*innen:
Angela Lühning – Direktorin der Stiftung Pierre Verger, Salvador da Bahia
Carl Haarnack – Kurator, Autor und Archivar, Gründer von Buku - Bibliotheca Surinamica, Amsterdam
Willem de Rooij – Künstler und Professor, Berlin

Moderation:
Oliver Hardt – Filmemacher, Frankfurt/Main

Anmeldung

Fotograf, Ethnologe und babalawo Pierre Fátúmbí Verger (1902, Paris–1996, Salvador da Bahia) setzte sich intensiv mit der Beziehung zwischen den Kulturen der afrikanischen Diaspora und Westafrikas auseinander. Im Jahr 1948 entstanden während einer achttägigen Reise durch Surinam eine Serie von 257 Fotografien, die heute in der Stiftung Pierre Verger in Salvador da Bahia aufbewahrt werden. Wie beziehen sich diese Fotografien zum einen auf das größere Archiv von Bildern aus Surinam und zum anderen auf Pierre Vergers Lebenswerk? Und was bedeutet es für diese Bilder, dass sie nun im Kontext der zeitgenössischen Kunst gezeigt und gesehen werden?

Willem de Rooijs Ausstellung Pierre Verger in Suriname im Portikus präsentiert eine neue Installation, in der De Rooij die Besucher*innen mit Vergers Fotografien durch ein immersives Display verbindet. Ein von Ronnie Füglister gestalteter Katalog mit Essays von Karin Amatmoekrim, Ayrson Heraclito, Philippe Pirotte, Willem de Rooij, Richard Price und Gloria Wekker macht die gesamte Serie von Bildern zum ersten Mal einem breiten Publikum zugänglich.

Angela Lühning ist ehrenamtliche Direktorin der Stiftung Pierre Verger, an der sie seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1988 tätig ist. Sie widmet sich vor allem der Forschung über Pierre Fátúmbí Verger, der Betreuung interessierter Forscher*innen und der Bearbeitung des Archivs. Außerdem ist sie auch für die Konzeption der Arbeit mit Kindern und Jugendlichen aus den die Stiftung umgebenden Vierteln zuständig, die in Kursen verschiedene Ausdrucksformen der afro-brasilianischen Kultur erleben und erlernen können. Beruflich ist sie seit 1990 als Musikethnologin an der Musikhochschule der Universität von Bahia (UFBA) tätig, wo sie mit der musikalischen Vielfalt der brasilianischen Kultur arbeitet.

Carl Haarnack studierte Politikwissenschaften an der Universität Amsterdam. Er ist Gründer von Buku – Bibliotheca Surinamica, einer bibliophilen Sammlung von antiken Büchern über Surinam. Seine Texte erscheinen in der Zeitschrift Parbode und auf der Website www.buku.nl. Außerdem publiziert er zur Geschichte Surinams und dessen kolonialem Erbe. Haarnack ist Mitautor von Black is Beautiful, Rubens to Dumas (2008). 2013 arbeitete er als Kurator an der Ausstellung Slavery Representated at the Special Collections of the UvA. In den Jahren 2019/2020 war Haarnack Berater für die Ausstellung Grote Suriname in der Nieuwe Kerk, Amsterdam. 2017 veröffentlichte er »Nachrichten von Surinam: Darstellungen einer niederländischen Kolonie in der deutschen Reiseliteratur«, erschienen in: Travel Writing in Dutch and German, Routledge, 2017).

Oliver Hardt ist Regisseur und Filmemacher in Frankfurt am Main. In seinen Dokumentarfilmen setzt er sich mit der kulturellen Dynamik der afrikanischen Diaspora auseinander mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Architektur, Design und zeitgenössischer Kunst. Seine Filmografie umfasst Black Deutschland, eine filmische Erkundung des Schwarzen Lebens in Deutschland; The United States of Hoodoo, ein Roadtrip zu den spirituellen Quellen afrikanisch-amerikanischer Musik und Bildräume; David Adjaye - Collaborations, ein Portrait des ghanaisch-britischen Architekten durch die Augen seiner Freund*innen, Mentor*innen und Projektpartner*innen; und zuletzt The Black Museum, ein Dokumentarfilm über das neue National Museum of African History and Culture in Washington D.C.

Willem de Rooij untersucht durch seine Arbeit mit verschiedenen Medien die Wirkungsweise von Bildern. Kollaborationen und Aneignungen prägen seine künstlerische Herangehensweise und sein Werk hat kunsthistorische und ethnographische Forschungsprojekte angeregt. De Rooij lehrt an der Städelschule, Frankfurt am Main, der Rijksakademie, Amsterdam und dem von ihm mitbegründeten BPA // Berlin Program for Artists. Er war DAAD Artist-in-Residence in Berlin und Robert Fulton Fellow in Harvard. Gemeinsam mit Jeroen de Rijke, seinem Duopartner in der Zeit von 1994 bis 2006, vertrat er die Niederlande auf der 51. Biennale von Venedig. Jüngste institutionelle Einzelausstellungen De Rooijs fanden an folgenden Institutionen statt: KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin; IMA Brisbane; Museum MMK für Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt am Main; Le Consortium, Dijon sowie Jewish Museum, New York. Zudem war seine Arbeit Teil von Gruppenausstellungen, u.a. im BDL Museum, Mumbai; im Hammer Museum, Los Angeles; auf der Jakarta Biennale; der EVA International – Irland’s Biennial, Limerick; auf der 10. Shanghai Biennale und bei Raw Material Company, Dakar. Seine Werke sind Teil folgender Sammlungen: Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam; mumok, Wien; Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin; Centre Pompidou, Paris; MoMA, New York sowie MOCA, Los Angeles.

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum