The Blackboard shows a loose collection of events organized by the Städelschule Community. The Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule is not responsible for the content.The Blackboard shows a loose collection of events organized by the Städelschule Community. The Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule is not responsible for the content. The Blackboard shows a loose collection of events organized by the Städelschule Community. The Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule is not responsible for the content. 

Mothers of Ultra

Miao & ChaoCoop

Opening: 7.12.20, 14:00

Mothers of Ultra is the title of a new video and fashion collection produced by visual artist and fashion designer Miao in collaboration with ChaoCoop based in Jieyang, China. The pieces are presented as a frontal window installation at SYNNIKA in Frankfurt/Main as well as on www.synnika.space

SYNNIKA started working with Miao during the Launch of a Soeng Joeng Toi (SJT) in Frankfurt/Main in August 2019. At that time she was pregnant and working in Guangzhou, mainly with textile and video at the SJT community space in collaboration with other artists and friends. Her contribution to the SJT project at SYNNIKA was a video installation and Blind Date invitation searching for someone to marry her. The marriage ought to protect the becoming single-mother from the Chinese law that would demand from her to return to the region where she was born. Miao gave birth to her daughter Ah Chao (English: "Ultra") in December 2019 after she got married to herself and to her friends, celebrating a phenomenal wedding in Guangzhou. Before giving birth Miao moved to the city of Jieyang near the eastern border of the Guangdong province. A place where she knows family and where she could have access to the legal and medical infrastructure, that the Chinese authorities would withhold from her in Guangzhou. In her neighbourhood in Jieyang she finds a community of mothers working for the textile industry, mainly for Mattel and other western brands, mainly from home. Here, at a four-hours-car-drive from the economic center of Guangzhou, she finds a setting in which she can work and live with her daughter, while planning the next steps. The installation on display behind the frontal window of SYNNIKA is produced in Jieyang by this community of mothers around the newborn Ultra – interwoven by daily routine of informal labour, expanded motherhood and the global textile industry. The pieces in the installation are based on textiles, fashion, video and politics of everyday life, portraing the reality and potential future of the Mothers of Ultra.

NIKA.haus
Niddastraße 57
60329 Frankfurt am Main

The installation is supported by the Stiftung Kunstfonds and the Kulturamt Frankfurt am Main.

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Das Blackboard zeigt eine lose Sammlung an Veranstaltungen der Städelschule Community. Die Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule ist nicht verantwortlich für die Inhalte.Das Blackboard zeigt eine lose Sammlung an Veranstaltungen der Städelschule Community. Die Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule ist nicht verantwortlich für die Inhalte. Das Blackboard zeigt eine lose Sammlung an Veranstaltungen der Städelschule Community. Die Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule ist nicht verantwortlich für die Inhalte. 

Mothers of Ultra

Miao & ChaoCoop

Eröffnung: 7.12.20, 14:00

Mothers of Ultra ist der Titel einer neuen Videoinstallation und Modekollektion produziert von der Künstlerin und Modedesignerin Miao in Zusammenarbeit mit ChaoCoop aus Jieyang in China. Die Arbeiten werden als Schaufensterinstallation im SYNNIKA präsentiert sowie auf www.synnika.space

SYNNIKA begann die Zusammenarbeit mit Miao während des Launch of a Soeng Joeng Toi (SJT) in Frankfurt/Main im August 2019. Zu dieser Zeit war sie schwanger und arbeitete in Guangzhou, hauptsächlich mit Textilien und Video im SJT Community Space in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstler*innen und Freund*innen. Ihr Beitrag zum SJT-Projekt im SYNNIKA war eine Videoinstallation und eine Blind-Date-Einladung, mit der sie nach einer/m Ehepartner/in suchte. Die Heirat sollte die werdende alleinerziehende Mutter vor dem chinesischen Gesetz schützen, das von ihr verlangt, in die Region zurückzukehren in der sie geboren wurde. Miao brachte ihre Tochter Ah Chao (deutsche Übersetzung: "Ultra") im Dezember 2019 zur Welt, nachdem sie für und mit sich selbst und alle anwesenden Freund*innen eine phänomenale Hochzeit in Guangzhou feierte. Vor der Geburt zog Miao in die Stadt Jieyang nahe der östlichen Grenze der Provinz Guangdong. Ein Ort, in dem einige ihrer Familienmitglieder wohnen und wo ihr Zugang zu jener rechtlichen und medizinischen Infrastruktur gewährt wurde, die ihr die chinesischen Behörden in Guangzhou vorenthalten. In ihrer Nachbarschaft in Jieyang fand sie eine Gemeinschaft von Müttern, die für die Textilindustrie, hauptsächlich für Mattel und andere westliche Marken, zumeist von zuhause aus arbeiten. Hier, vier Autostunden vom Wirtschaftszentrum Guangzhou entfernt, findet sie eine Umgebung, in der sie mit ihrer Tochter arbeiten und leben kann, während sie ihre nächsten Schritte plant. Die Installation, die im SYNNIKA-Schaufenster zu sehen sein wird, wurde in Jieyang produziert, von jener Gemeinschaft aus Müttern, die sich um die Neugeborene Ultra versammelt haben - verbunden durch ihren Alltag informeller Arbeit, erweiterter Elternschaft und die globale Textilindustrie. Die Objekte der Installation basieren auf Textilien, Mode, Video und einer Politik des Alltagslebens, sie portraitieren die Realität und mögliche Zukunft der Mothers of Ultra.

NIKA.haus
Niddastraße 57
60329 Frankfurt am Main

Die Installation wird unterstützt von der Stiftung Kunstfonds und dem Kulturamt Frankfurt am Main.

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum