The Städelschule is an academy of fine arts in Frankfurt am Main. Since 1817 it has been committed to provide egalitarian, international, adventurous and independent education in art. Public events include the annual student exhibition Rundgang, the graduation exhibition as well as the lecture program, taking place during the semester in the auditorium of the Städelschule.


The teaching at the Städelschule supports open spaces for art and critical thinking through a variety of formats and discourses. The Städelschule offers programs in fine art, architecture and curatorial studies. Courses conducted by the Institute of Art Criticism are attended by all students.


The Städelschule is a permanent experiment for the school’s faculty. It values education in dialogue and diversity, that challenges students and confronts them with the unexpected. Its teaching staff of distinguished artists, architects and cultural theorists currently include Johan Bettum, Daniel Birnbaum, Gerard Byrne, Isabelle Graw, Judith Hopf, Hassan Khan, Philippe Pirotte, Tobias Rehberger, Willem de Rooij and Haegue Yang.


The Portikus exhibition venue has been an integral part of the Städelschule since 1987. Over time the Portikus has established itself as a leading centre for experimental art in Germany and thus contributes to the Städelschule’s international reputation.


Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule
Dürerstraße 10
60596 Frankfurt am Main

Telephone: +49 (0) 69 60 50 08-0
Fax: +49 (0) 69 60 50 08-66

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information