Städelschule Architecture Foundation

The Städelschule Architecture Foundation (SSfB) supports the Architecture Class at the Städelschule and achieves its statutory objective by means of prizes, publications and events: “The aim of the Foundation is to monitor, research and scientifically support the changing relationship between landscape, architecture, design and art by promoting education, art and culture at home and abroad.”

The SSfB was established in 2001 by Günter Bock who ran the Architecture Class from 1972 to 1984.  Among other things Günter Bock is credited with making the Architecture Class more international.

Prizes, publications and events

The Foundation has awarded the Günter Bock Prize annually since 2011. This prize is awarded to outstanding first-year architecture students at the Städelschule. The award is given in conjunction with the Dean’s Honorary Lecture after the final examinations. The € 3,000 prize is intended to support winners in the second year of their masters course. Previous winners are:

  • José Luis Arias Reynoso and Shuruq Tramontini (2017)
  • Rebecca Nayagam and Apoorva Shankar (2016)
  • Huey Hoong Chan (2015)
  • Chakkarat Wongthirawat (2014)
  • Eva Goula and Vasily Sitnikov (2013)
  • Marcos Polydorou (2012).

As well as the Günter Bock Prize, the SSfB has offered an architecture prize regularly since 2002. This award recognises work whose conception reflects the spirit of the Foundation’s charter and which is multidisciplinary or transdiscipinary in nature, transcends the boundaries of disciplines, and concerns landscape, urban planning or spatial design qualities in general.

On the Foundation’s initiative various publications, have been published since the Foundation was established. Architectural Theory. Ruminations of an Old Hand is a collection of theoretical articles by its founder Günter Bock. The publication Architecture & Theory came out of a symposium of the same name at which participants discussed all kinds of positions, working methods and the geocultural origins of the tension between practice and theory.

Events run or funded by the SSfB also include lecture series and alumni gatherings linked to exhibitions and reports on the work of former Städel students.

Support

To be successful in its endeavours, the Foundation is reliant upon financial support. By making a donation (recipient: Stiftung Städelschule für Baukunst, IBAN: DE38 5005 0201 0200 3710 96, BIC: HELADEF 1822) you are safeguarding future prizes, events and projects. Donations are tax deductible and are confirmed by a donation receipt.

The SSfB is also always delighted to add new supporters to its ranks.

Members

The following members are currently involved in the Foundation:

Board: Prof. Johan Bettum (Frankfurt a.M.), Sergiusch Godulla (Acting Chairperson, Kronberg i.Ts.), Lars Nixdorff (Frankfurt a.M.)

Advisory board: Sylvia Fadenhecht (Frankfurt a.M.), Dr. Falk Roman Lauterbach (Frankfurt a.M.), Claudia Meixner (Frankfurt a.M.), Jürgen Riehm (New York/Frankfurt a.M.), Prof. Ulrich Scheffler (Chairperson of the Advisory Board, Frankfurt a.M.), Prof. Dr. Kai Vöckler (Offenbach a.M.)

Corresponding Advisory Board: Prof. Ben van Berkel (Frankfurt a.M.), Prof. Daniel Birnbaum (Stockholm), Matthias Böttger (Berlin), Prof. Sir Peter Cook (London), Dr. Niklas Maak (Frankfurt a.M.), Peter Cachola Schmal, (Frankfurt a.M.), Prof. Mark Wigley (New York)

Contact

Stiftung Städelschule für Baukunst
Dürerstraße 10
60596 Frankfurt am Main

Email: mail@stiftung-baukunst.de

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Stiftung Städelschule für Baukunst

Die Stiftung Städelschule für Baukunst (SSfB) fördert die Architekturklasse der Hochschule. Mit Preisen, Publikationen und Veranstaltungen realisiert sie ihr satzungsgemäßes Ziel: „Die Stiftung will das im Wandel begriffene Verhältnis von Landschaft, Architektur, Design und Kunst beobachten, erforschen und wissenschaftlich begleiten, durch Förderung der Bildung, Kunst und Kultur auch auf internationaler Ebene.“

Die SSfB wurde im Jahr 2001 von Günter Bock gestiftet. Ihr Stifter leitete die Architekturklasse in den Jahren von 1972-1984. Zu den Verdiensten von Günter Bock gehört unter anderem die internationale Öffnung der Architekturklasse.

Preise, Publikationen und Veranstaltungen

Seit 2011 verleiht die Stiftung jährlich den Günter Bock-Preis. Dieser Preis wird von der Architekturklasse der Städelschule an herausragende Studierende des ersten Studienjahres vergeben. Die Verleihung findet jeweils im Zusammenhang mit der Dean’s Honorary Lecture im Anschluss an die Abschlussprüfungen statt. Der Preis ist mit 3.000 € dotiert und soll die Preisträger im zweiten Jahr des Master-Studiums unterstützen. Ausgezeichnet wurden bislang:

  • José Luis Arias Reynoso und Shuruq Tramontini (2017)
  • Rebecca Nayagam und Apoorva Shankar (2016)
  • Huey Hoong Chan (2015)
  • Chakkarat Wongthirawat (2014)
  • Eva Goula und Vasily Sitnikov (2013)
  • Marcos Polydorou (2012)

Neben dem Günter Bock-Preis lobt die SSfB seit 2012 regelmäßig den Baukunstpreis aus. Mit ihm werden Arbeiten gewürdigt, deren Konzeption dem Sinn der Stiftungssatzung entsprechen und inter- oder transdisziplinären Charakter haben bzw. disziplinäre Grenzen überwinden und landschaftliche, städtebauliche oder allgemein raumkünstlerischer Qualitäten behandeln.

Auf Initiative der Stiftung wurden seit Stiftungsgründung verschiedene Publikationen herausgegeben. „Die Architekturtheoretischen Vermutungen eines alten Praktikers“ umfasst theoretische Texte des Stifters Günter Bocks. Die Publikation „Architektur & Theorie“ resultierte aus einem gleichnamigen Symposium auf dem die Teilnehmer unterschiedlichster Positionen, Arbeitsweisen und geografisch-kulturellen Herkunft das Spannungsverhältnis von Praxis und Theorie diskutierten.

Zu den von der SSfB organisierten bzw. finanzierten Veranstaltungen zählen darüber hinaus Vorlesungsreihen sowie Alumnitreffen, die sich mit Ausstellungen und Werkberichten ehemaliger Ex-Städelstudierender verbinden.

Unterstützung

Für eine erfolgreiche Arbeit ist die Stiftung auf finanzielle Unterstützung angewiesen. Mit einer Spende (Empfänger: Stiftung Städelschule für Baukunst, IBAN: DE38 5005 0201 0200 3710 96, BIC: HELADEF 1822) sichern Sie künftige Preise, Veranstaltungen und Projekte. Spenden sind steuerlich absetzbar und werden durch eine Zuwendungsbescheinigung bestätigt.

Die SSfB freut sich jederzeit auch über personelle Verstärkung.

Mitglieder

Folgende Mitglieder engagieren sich aktuell für die Stiftung:

Vorstand: Prof. Johan Bettum (Frankfurt a.M.), Sergiusch Godulla (Vorsitzender (kommissarisch), Kronberg a.Ts.), Lars Nixdorff (Frankfurt a.M.)

Beirat: Sylvia Fadenhecht (Frankfurt a.M.), Dr. Falk Roman Lauterbach (Frankfurt a.M.), Claudia Meixner (Frankfurt a.M.), Jürgen Riehm (New York / Frankfurt a.M.), Prof. Ulrich Scheffler (Vorsitzender des Beirats, Frankfurt a.M.), Prof. Dr. Kai Vöckler (Offenbach a.M.)

Korrespondierende Beiratsmitglieder: Prof. Ben van Berkel (Frankfurt a.M.), Prof. Daniel Birnbaum (Stockholm), Matthias Böttger (Berlin), Prof. Sir Peter Cook (London), Dr. Niklas Maak (Frankfurt a.M.), Peter Cachola Schmal, (Frankfurt a.M.), Prof. Mark Wigley (New York)

Kontakt

Stiftung Städelschule für Baukunst
Dürerstraße 10
60596 Frankfurt am Main

E-Mail: mail@stiftung-baukunst.de

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum