Portfolio III from students
Bogdan Ablozhnyy
Alan B. Brock-Richmond
Elisa Caldana
Lennart Constant
Timothy Furey
Nikolas Gambaroff
Tue Greenfort
Judith Hopf
Christa Näher
Rudi Ninov
Riccardo Paratore
Tobias Rehberger and students
Willem de Rooij
Katharina Schücke
Amy Sillman / Monika Baer and students
Simon Starling
Thomas Bayrle (sold)
Lars Karl Becker (sold)
Billa Burger (sold)
Ian Edmonds (sold)
Peter Fischli (sold)
Douglas Gordon (sold)
Douglas Gordon (sold)
Michael Krebber (sold)
Flo Maak (sold)
Tobias Rehberger (sold)
Willem de Rooij (sold)
Amy Sillman (sold)
Portfolio II of Students (sold)
Portfolio I of Students (sold)
Wolfgang Tillmans (sold)

Amy Sillman / Monika Baer and students

Christmas Edition

Title

Seidentücher, 2017

Format

90 cm x 90 cm / 163 cm x 63 cm

Number of copies

Edition of 10, hand-rolled

Material

Silk scarf

Price

from € 60 to € 400

Amy Sillman (* 1955) is an American painter who lives in New York and occasionally in Berlin. Rooted in the practice of drawing, Sillman examines in depth the materiality of painting, as well as its meaning and methodologies. Starting with drawing, her practice expanded to include painting and digital animation. Her work has been shown in numerous museums and galleries in America and Europe, including: Portikus, Frankfurt; MoMA; Whitney Museum, NYC; San Francisco MoMA; and Tate, London.

Monika Baer (* 1964 in Freiburg) is an artist who lives in Berlin. Positioned on the border between figuration and abstraction, her work deals with the past and present of painting. Her complex, multi-layered pictures can be understood as dynamic fields of conflict, as places of persistent reflection on questions of authorship, the object-like nature of painting and the scenic that is her own. On a formal and technical level, her work deals with the motifs and gestures of tradition as well as the current conditions of painting. Her work has been shown in numerous exhibitions, including the Kestnergesellschaft in Hanover, the Museum Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach, the Art Institute of Chicao, the Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich, the mumok in Vienna and the Documenta 12 in Kassel. Her work is represented by the Barbara Weiss Gallery in Berlin, the Richard Telles Gallery in Los Angeles and the Greene Naftali Gallery in New York.

On the occasion of the Hanukkah Christmas party 2017, the Sillman / Baer class is presenting a very special edition. Inspired by artists such as Rosemarie Trockel and Sophie Taeuber-Arp, but also representatives of the Bauhaus and the Soviet avant-garde, the students and professors designed impressive silk scarves.

The extraordinary designs were transferred to the medium of silk as artistic positions. Like a special piece of jewelry, wearable art was created. The high-quality silk scarves in various sizes cost between € 60 and € 400.

The proceeds from the sale support the Sillman / Baer class in organizing a study trip. The decision to use the funds for this is based on the positive experiences and impressions of trips that have already taken place.

In addition to museums in Zürich and Paris, the Venice Biennale and cave painting in France, the studio of the visionary artist Emma Kunz could also be visited.

The experiences gained during the travels do not relate exclusively to the artistic questions and discussions. Every trip in a class strengthens the individual competence of the students and promotes cohesion in the group.

Wherever the journey goes - the purpose of any art education is to promote experiences, experiences and collective development.

If you are interested in one of the editions or if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Martina Cooper
Städelschule Portikus e.V.
Telephone: +49 (0) 69 60 50 08-29
Email: freunde@staedelschule.de

Amy Sillman / Monika Baer und Studenten
Peter Fischli
Judith Hopf
Tobias Rehberger und Studenten
Willem de Rooij
Douglas Gordon
Simon Starling
Christa Näher
Douglas Gordon
Michael Krebber
Thomas Bayrle
Willem de Rooij
Wolfgang Tillmans
Tobias Rehberger
Riccardo Paratore
Ian Edmonds
Lennart Constant
Elisa Caldana
Alan B. Brock-Richmond
Timothy Furey
Tue Greenfort
Flo Maak
Billa Burger
Katharina Schücke
Foto: Ivan Murzin
Lars Karl Becker

Amy Sillman / Monika Baer und Studenten

Weihnachtsedition

Titel

Seidentücher, 2017

Format

90 cm x 90 cm / 163 cm x 63 cm

Auflage

Edition von 10, Handgerollt

Material

Seidentuch

Preis

von 60,- Euro bis 400,- Euro (ikl. MwSt.)

Amy Sillman (*1955) ist eine amerikanische Malerin, die in New York und gelegentlich in Ber- lin lebt. Verwurzelt in der Praxis des Zeichnens, untersucht Sillman eingehend die Materialität von Malerei, ebenso wie deren Bedeutung und Methodologien. Ausgehend von der Zeichnung weitet sich ihre Praxis auf Malerei und digitale Animation aus. Ihre Arbeit wurde in zahlreichen Museen und Galerien in Amerika und Europa gezeigt, u.a.: Portikus, Frankfurt; MoMA; Whitney Museum, NYC; San Francisco MoMA; sowie Tate, London.

Monika Baer (* 1964 in Freiburg) ist eine Künstlerin und lebt in Berlin. Situationiert an der Grenze von Figuration und Abstraktion, setzt sich ihr Werk mit der Geschichte und Gegenwart der Malerei auseinander. Ihre komplexen, vielschichtigen Bilder können als dynamische Konfliktfelder verstanden werden, als Orte der persistierenden Reflexion über Fragen der Autorschaft, der Objekthaftigkeit von Malerei sowie des Szenischen, das ihr eigen ist. Auf einer formalen und technischen Ebene beschäftigt sich ihr Werk mit der Motivik und Gestik der Tradition sowie den gegenwärtigen Bedingungen malerischen Arbeitens. Ihr Werk war in zahlreichen Ausstellungen zu sehen, unter anderem in der Kestnergesellschaft in Hannover, dem Museum Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach, dem Art Institute of Chicao, der Pinakothek der Moderne in München, dem mumok in Wien und der Documenta 12 in Kassel. Repräsentiert wird ihr Werk von der Galerie Barbara Weiss in Berlin, der Richard Telles Galerie in Los Angeles sowie der Galerie Greene Naftali in New York.

Anlässlich der Hanukkah-Weihnachtsfeier 2017 präsentiert die Klasse Sillman/Baer eine ganz besondere Edition. Inspiriert von Künstlerinnen wie Rosemarie Trockel und Sophie Taeuber-Arp, aber auch Vertreterinnen des Bauhaus und der sowjetischenavantgarde, entwarfen die Studierenden und Professorinnen eindrucksvolle Seidentücher.

Die außergewöhnlichen Entwürfe wurden als künstlerische Positionen auf das Medium Seide übertragen. So entstand, wie ein besonderer Schmuck, tragbare Kunst.
Die hochwertigen Seidentücher in verschiedenen Größen kosten zwischen €60 und €400.

Der Erlös aus dem Verkauf unterstützt die Klasse Sillman/Baer bei der Durchführung einer Studienreise. Die Entscheidung, die Mittel dafür einzusetzen, resultiert aus den positiven Erfahrungen und Eindrücken bereits erfolgter Reisen.

Neben Museen in Zürich und Paris, der Biennale in Venedig oder Höhlenmalerei in Frankreich, konnte auch das Atelier der visionären Künstlerin Emma Kunz besucht werden.
Die gewonnenen Erfahrungen der Reisen beziehen sich dabei nicht ausschließlich auf die künstlerischen Fragestellungen und Auseinandersetzungen. Jede Reise im Klassenverband stärkt die individuelle Kompetenz der Studierenden und fördert den Zusammenhalt in der Gruppe.

Wo immer die Reise hingeht – der Sinn jeder Kunsterziehung ist es, Erfahrungen, Erlebnis und kollektive Entwicklung zu fördern.

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum