Professors

Monika Baer

Fine Arts and Painting
Photo: Julian Martitz

Johan Bettum

Architecture
Photo: Åsa Lundén, Moderna Museet

Daniel Birnbaum

Philosophy and Art Education
Photo: Louis Haugh

Gerard Byrne

Film
Photo: Heji Shin

Isabelle Graw

Art History and Art Theory
Foto: Florian Zeyfang

Judith Hopf

Fine Arts
Photo: Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Hassan Khan

Fine Arts
Photo: Büro Schramm für Gestaltung

Philippe Pirotte

Art History and Curatorial Studies
Photo: Valentina Knežević

Yasmil Raymond

Rector
Photo: Killa Schuetze

Tobias Rehberger

Sculpture
Photo: Jonas Leihener

Willem de Rooij

Fine Arts
Photo: Abigail Enzaldo, © Haegue Yang and kurimanzutto, 2017

Haegue Yang

Fine Arts, Vice-Rector

Guest
Professors

Tania Bruguera

Fine Arts
Photo: Albrecht Fuchs

Cyprien Gaillard

Fine Arts
Photo: Mikael Olsson

Ulrika Karlsson

Advanced Architectural Design
Photo: Frank Röth

Niklas Maak

Fine Arts and Architecture
Foto: privat

Peter Trummer

Architecture and Urban Design

Honorary
Professors

Photo: Rheinisches Bildarchiv, Köln

Kasper König

Cultural Education
Photo: Hans Joachim von Büdingen

Christa Näher

Fine Arts
Photo: Anders Clausen

Wolfgang Tillmans

Fine Arts

Additional Teachers

Photo: Büro Schramm für GestaltungPhoto: Büro Schramm für Gestaltung

Philippe Pirotte

Art History and Curatorial Studies

Philippe Pirotte is Adjunct Senior Curator at the University of California Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA). He also serves on the Documenta Commission (2019-2022), which selected ruangrupa as the artistic direction of documenta fifteen (2022). Pirotte held the position of rector of the Städelschule and director of kunsthalle Portikus between 2014–2020. Prior to this, he co-founded the Antwerp contemporary art center objectif (1999), and from 2005-2011 he took on the directorship of Kunsthalle Bern in Switzerland. From 2004 to 2013, Philippe Pirotte was Senior Advisor at the Rijksakademie for Visual Arts in Amsterdam, and from 2018-19 he served as visiting professor curatorial studies at the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. Most recently Philippe Pirotte curated the Samdani Art Award exhibition for the 2020 Dhaka Art Summit in Bangladesh, and the group show Arus Balik. From Below the Wind to Above the Wind and Back Again for the Center for Contemporary Art Singapore (2019). He was member of the curatorial team of the Jakarta Biennale in 2017, and was artistic director of the 2016 edition of La Biennale de Montréal, Canada. 

Philippe Pirotte is editor of several books and authored essays and contributions to catalogues on modern and contemporary art. Most recently he edited an anthology of writings by artist Hassan Khan, and he oversaw the publication of Städelschule Lectures#1. As a regular lecturer he recently presented a.o. at: the international forum Tense Switching: Non-Aligned Movement, Third Worldism and Asian Art (Asia Culture Centre in Gwangju - South-Korea, December 2018); the symposium Postcolonial Perspectives from the South (Goethe Institute Jakarta – Indonesia, January 2019); and the conference Considering Monoculture (organized by l’Internationale, MuHKA and Vanabbemuseum, February 2020). 

Currently Philippe Pirotte is a recipient of an Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts fellowship to conduct research in preparation for a major exhibition-project, to be held at BAMPFA, focusing on cultural and artistic developments in relation to the 1955 Asia-Africa Conference in Bandung, Indonesia.

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Professor*innen

Monika Baer

Freie Bildende Kunst und Malerei
Foto: Julian Martitz

Johan Bettum

Architektur
Foto: Åsa Lundén, Moderna Museet

Daniel Birnbaum

Philosophie und Kunstvermittlung
Foto: Louis Haugh

Gerard Byrne

Film
Foto: Heji Shin

Isabelle Graw

Kunstgeschichte und Kunsttheorie
Foto: Florian Zeyfang

Judith Hopf

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Sebastian Bolesch / HKW

Hassan Khan

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Büro Schramm für Gestaltung

Philippe Pirotte

Kunstgeschichte und Curatorial Studies
Foto: Valentina Knežević

Yasmil Raymond

Rektorin
Foto: Killa Schuetze

Tobias Rehberger

Bildhauerei
Foto: Jonas Leihener

Willem de Rooij

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Abigail Enzaldo, © Haegue Yang and kurimanzutto, 2017

Haegue Yang

Freie Bildende Kunst, Prorektorin

Gastprofessor*innen

Tania Bruguera

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Albrecht Fuchs

Cyprien Gaillard

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Mikael Olsson

Ulrika Karlsson

Advanced Architectural Design
Foto: Frank Röth

Niklas Maak

Freie Bildende Kunst und Architektur
Foto: privat

Peter Trummer

Architecture and Urban Design

Honorarprofessor*innen

Foto: Rheinisches Bildarchiv, Köln

Kasper König

Kulturelle Bildung
Foto: Hans Joachim von Büdingen

Christa Näher

Freie Bildende Kunst
Foto: Anders Clausen

Wolfgang Tillmans

Freie Bildende Kunst

Weitere Lehrende

Foto: Büro Schramm für GestaltungFoto: Büro Schramm für Gestaltung

Philippe Pirotte

Kunstgeschichte und Curatorial Studies

Philippe Pirotte ist Adjunct Senior Curator am Berkeley Art Museum der Universität von Kalifornien und am Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA). Er ist auch Mitglied der Documenta-Kommission (2019-2022), die Ruangrupa als künstlerische Leitung der Documenta 15 (2022) auswählte. Pirotte war von 2014 bis 2020 Rektor der Städelschule und Direktor der Kunsthalle Portikus. Zuvor war er Mitbegründer des Antwerpener Zentrums für zeitgenössische Kunst objectif (1999) und übernahm von 2005 bis 2011 die Leitung der Kunsthalle Bern in der Schweiz. Von 2004 bis 2013 war Philippe Pirotte Senior Advisor an der Rijksakademie für Bildende Kunst in Amsterdam. Von 2018 bis 19 war er Gastprofessor für kuratorische Studien an der Nanyang Technological University in Singapur. Zuletzt kuratierte Philippe Pirotte die Ausstellung Samdani Art Award für den Dhaka Art Summit 2020 in Bangladesch und die Gruppenausstellung Arus Balik. From Below the Wind to Above the Wind and Back Again für das Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst Singapur (2019). Er war 2017 Mitglied des Kuratorenteams der Jakarta Biennale und künstlerischer Leiter der Ausgabe 2016 der La Biennale de Montréal, Kanada.

Philippe Pirotte ist Herausgeber mehrerer Bücher und verfasste Essays und Beiträge zu Katalogen über moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst. Zuletzt gab er eine Sammlung von Schriften des Künstlers Hassan Khan heraus und leitete die Veröffentlichung der Städelschule Lectures#1. Als regelmäßiger Referent präsentierte er kürzlich a.o. auf: dem internationalen Forum Tense Switching: Non-Aligned Movement, Third Worldism and Asian Art (Asia Culture Center in Gwangju - Südkorea, Dezember 2018); das Symposium Postkoloniale Perspektiven aus dem Süden (Goethe-Institut Jakarta - Indonesien, Januar 2019); und die Konferenz über Monokultur (organisiert von l'Internationale, MuHKA und Vanabbemuseum, Februar 2020).

Derzeit ist Philippe Pirotte Empfänger einer Andy Warhol-Stiftung für Bildende Kunst Stipendium, um in Vorbereitung auf ein großes Ausstellungsprojekt im BAMPFA, die kulturelle und künstlerische Entwicklungen im Zusammenhang mit der Asien-Afrika-Konferenz 1955 in Bandung, Indonesien zu forschen.

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum