History

The Städelschule dates back to an endowment made by the Frankfurt citizen Johann Friedrich Städel. In his last will and testament he left the Städel Institute of Art his art collection and estate in 1815. Städel provided for lessons “in architecture and those sciences included in the subject of art”. This became possible from 1817 in the form of bursaries coming out of his estate.

Last will and testament of Johann Friedrich Städel (PDF)

The intention was to support young people with an interest in learning art, irrespective of their gender, religion or social background. Johann Friedrich Städel did not limit this education to the Frankfurt area; students were also able to study abroad in order to “be educated to become valuable and useful citizens and artists”.

Corina Meyer: „… to be educated to become valuable and useful citizens and artists“ The origins of the Städelschule, 2017 (PDF)

Publications

An initiative of the Städelschule’s Friends’ Association (Förderverein), the publication Städelschule Frankfurt am Main. Aus der Geschichte einer deutschen Kunsthochschule (1982) looks back on and appraises the Städelschule’s eventful past.

Die Städelschule Frankfurt am Main von 1817 bis 1995 by Hubert Salden was published in 1995. It examines the Städelschule’s artistic history.

Rectors

The recent past of the Städelschule has been shaped by its Rectors: Raimer Jochims, Peter Kubelka, Kasper King, Daniel Birnbaum, Nikolaus Hirsch and Philippe Pirotte.

Under the management of Raimer Jochims, a constitution was formulated in the 1970s that allowed for the involvement of professors, staff and students. It continues to this day.

Peter Kubelka introduced film and cookery classes at the Städelschule, thus establishing a tradition that is maintained to this day in the ‘film kitchen’ run by students and in the Städelschule’s refectory.

Kasper König was the first curator to be appointed to run the school, at the suggestion of Peter Kubelka und Thomas Bayrle. König appointed Christa Näher to be professor of painting. In 1987 he set up Portikus and created a class for interdisciplinary art and the Institute of New Media with Peter Weibel.

Daniel Birnbaum made the Städelschule a firm fixture in international networks of contemporary art. During his time as Rector, Judith Hopf, Simon Starling and Willem de Rooij were appointed professors at the Städelschule.

Nikolaus Hirsch developed long-term strategies to safeguard the Städelschule’s future. He appointed Peter Fischli and Amy Sillman to the faculty.

Philippe Pirotte is maintaining these ideas and firmly positioning the Städelschule in current global discourses, with the students’ future firmly in mind. Haegue Yang was appointed professor at the Städelschule in the winter semester of 2017.

Night school, photo: NN, 1947Night school, photo: NN, 1947
Class of Wilhelm Heise, photo: NN, 1947Class of Wilhelm Heise, photo: NN, 1947
Class for figurative composition, photo: NN, 1950Class for figurative composition, photo: NN, 1950
Photo: NN, 1974Photo: NN, 1974
Photo: NN, 1974Photo: NN, 1974
Photo: NN, 1981/82Photo: NN, 1981/82
Photo: NN, 1982Photo: NN, 1982
Lecture, photo: NN, 1982Lecture, photo: NN, 1982
Lecture Ernst Caramelle, photo: NN, 1982Lecture Ernst Caramelle, photo: NN, 1982

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Geschichte

Die Städelschule geht auf eine Stiftung des Frankfurter Bürgers Johann Friedrich Städel zurück. In seinem Testament stiftete er 1815 das Städelsche Kunstinstitut aus seiner Kunstsammlung und seinem Vermögen. Städel verordnete Unterricht "in der Baukunst und den in das Kunstfach einschlagenden Wissenschaften". Ab 1817 wurde dies in Form von Stipendien aus seinem Vermögen ermöglicht.

Testament Johann Friedrich Städel (PDF)

Junge Menschen mit Interesse an einer künstlerischen Ausbildung sollten unabhängig von Geschlecht, Religion oder sozialer Herkunft unterstützt werden. Johann Friedrich Städel beschränkte dies nicht auf den Raum Frankfurt, sondern ermöglichte auch das Studium in der Fremde, um die Studenten "zu nützlichen und brauchbaren Bürgern und Künstlern zu bilden."

Corina Meyer: "...um sich zu nützlichen und brauchbaren Bürgern und Künstlern zu bilden" Zur Entstehung der Städelschule, Essay zum 200. Jubiläum der Städelschule 2017 (PDF)

Publikationen

In der Publikation Städelschule Frankfurt am Main. Aus der Geschichte einer deutschen Kunsthochschule (1982) wurde auf Initiative des Fördervereins der Hochschule die wechselvolle Geschichte der Städelschule aufgearbeitet.

Im Jahr 1995 erschien der Katalog Die Städelschule Frankfurt am Main von 1817 bis 1995 von Hubert Salden, der sich mit der künstlerischen Historie der Städelschule beschäftigt.

Rektoren

In der jüngeren Vergangenheit prägten die Rektoren Raimer Jochims, Peter Kubelka, Kasper König, Daniel Birnbaum, Nikolaus Hirsch und Philippe Pirotte die Städelschule.

Unter der Leitung von Raimer Jochims formulierte man in den 1970er Jahren eine Satzung, die die Mitbestimmung von Professoren, Angestellten und Studierenden einräumt und die bis heute gültig ist.

Peter Kubelka führte an der Städelschule die Klasse für Film und Kochen ein. Damit begründete er eine Tradition, die noch heute in der von Studierenden betriebenen Filmküche und der Mensa der Städelschule gepflegt wird.

Kasper König war der erste Kurator, der, auf Initivative Peter Kubelkas und Thomas Bayrles, zum Schulleiter berufen wurde. König berief Christa Näher zur Professorin für Malerei. Er gründete 1987 den Portikus und installierte eine Klasse für interdisziplinäre Kunst sowie das Institut für Neue Medien mit Peter Weibel.

Daniel Birnbaum verankerte die Städelschule in den internationalen Netzwerken der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Während seiner Zeit als Rektor wurden Judith Hopf, Simon Starling und Willem de Rooij als Professoren an die Schule berufen.

Nikolaus Hirsch entwickelte nachhaltige Strategien für die Absicherung der Schule in der Zukunft. Er berief Peter Fischli und Amy Sillman an die Fakultät.

Philippe Pirotte führt diese Ansätze weiter und verankert die Schule in aktuellen, globalen Diskursen mit Blick auf die Zukunft der Studierenden. Zum Wintersemster 2017 trat Haegue Yang ihre Professur an der Städelschule an.

Abendschule, Foto: NN, 1947Abendschule, Foto: NN, 1947
Klasse Wilhelm Heise, Foto: NN, 1947Klasse Wilhelm Heise, Foto: NN, 1947
Klasse für Figürliche Komposition, Foto: NN, 1950Klasse für Figürliche Komposition, Foto: NN, 1950
Foto: NN, 1974Foto: NN, 1974
Foto: NN, 1974Foto: NN, 1974
Foto: NN, 1981/82Foto: NN, 1981/82
Foto: NN, 1982Foto: NN, 1982
Vortrag, Foto: NN, 1982Vortrag, Foto: NN, 1982
Vortrag Ernst Caramelle, Foto: NN, 1982Vortrag Ernst Caramelle, Foto: NN, 1982

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum