Ongoing

Guidelines on General Equality

Information, 9 November 2020 – 9 November 2030

Willem de Rooij "PIERRE VERGER IN SURINAME" at Portikus

Exhibition, 27 March – 18 July 2021

Summer semester 2021

Information, 12 April – 16 July 2021

Lectures Summer Semester 2021

Online Lecture, 20 April – 8 July 2021

Willem de Rooij class: Premiere

Class Project, 7 – 21 May 2021

Upcoming

Etta Madete: OCHA-African Avant-Garde

Online Lecture, 11 May 2021, 19:00

Hassan Khan class: AUTONATURA

Class Project, 14 – 16 May 2021

Breaking Glass III – Virtual Space

Symposium, 28 – 30 May 2021

Archive: 2021 NextPrevious

Banu Cennetoğlu: neither a mirror nor a hammer

Online Lecture, 6 May 2021, 19:00

POSTPONED—Daniel Lie: Rotten Energy

Online Lecture, 29 April 2021, 19:00

Elif Saydam: The House Always Wins

Online Lecture, 20 April 2021, 19:00

Willem de Rooij Class: Raum I7

Class Project, 19 February 2021

Rungdang

Event, 19 – 21 February 2021, 16:00–20:00

STADL: Schtorona

Radio Show, 19 – 21 February 2021, 18:00–19:00

Bani Abidi: Funland

Online Lecture, 16 February 2021, 19:00

Olga Balema

Online Lecture, 4 February 2021, 19:00

Henrike Naumann: Aesthetics of Power

Online Lecture, 28 January 2021, 19:00

The Otolith Group: Infinity Minus Infinity

Online Lecture, 21 January 2021, 19:00

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Lecture, 19 January 2021, 19:00

Jason Mohaghegh: Dreams of the Last King

Online Lecture, 12 January 2021, 19:00

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Lecture19 January 2021, 19:00online
Teresa Solar, work in progress for the LB21 public sculpture commission Osteoclast, 2021, materials: resin, mixed media, photo: Courtesy of the artist.Teresa Solar, work in progress for the LB21 public sculpture commission Osteoclast, 2021, materials: resin, mixed media, photo: Courtesy of the artist.

In this lecture, Manuela Moscoso will be presenting the work behind assembling the Liverpool Biennial 2021 which will unfold her perspective on curating, exhibition making and producing in motion with artistic practices. The question at the heart of the 2021 Liverpool Biennial is about the body: what is a body, what does it? And by extension: what is a human and what potential humans have to be? The focus on the body challenges our understanding of ourselves as rational, defined, finite beings, suggesting instead non-Western viewpoints to recognize the entanglement of bodies, objects, the environment and history. The Liverpool Biennial's title The Stomach and the Port reflects on systems of exchange, how borders are not only geographic but also political and subjective constructs—the outcome of a historical process of division begun in the modern, colonial world. The Biennial resists this order, reminding us that our lives are intertwined with one another.

Manuela Moscoso is a curator, researcher and critical producer devising and delivering exhibitions, public programs and publications, independently or for organizations in Europe and Latin America, for example as Senior Curator at Museo Tamayo, Mexico City; Co-Director of Capacete, Rio de Janeiro and currently as curator at the 2021 Liverpool Biennial. She has published a number of books and essays, including Thinking about it (Archive Books, 2014), Animal Que No Existe with Daniel Steegmann Mangrané (Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite, 2015) and Hands Makes Mistakes with Ariel Schlesinger (Roma Publications, 2019). Collaboration is fundamental to her professional practice as Moscoso believes production only happens through a relation with others. Recognizing herself as a curator of practices rather than objects, she continuously looks for different approaches to research, create, think, produce and disseminate work and ideas. Moscoso sees a deep connection between art and education practices and she is strongly committed diversifying the art sector by ensuring wider representation on every aspect of its practices and advocating for non-Western systems of thought.

Registration

The lecture will be held in English language.

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Heute

Elif Saydam: The House Always Wins

Online Vortrag, 20. April 2021, 19:00

Ongoing

Richtlinie zur Allgemeinen Gleichbehandlung

Information, 9. November 2020 – 9. November 2030

Willem de Rooij "PIERRE VERGER IN SURINAME" im Portikus

Ausstellung, 27. März – 30. Mai 2021

Sommersemester 2021

Information, 12. April – 16. Juli 2021

Vortragsreihe Sommersemester 2021

Online Vortrag, 20. April – 8. Juli 2021

Demnächst

Breaking Glass III – Virtual Space

Symposium, 28. – 30. Mai 2021

Archiv: 2021 NextPrevious

STADL: Schtorona

Radio Show, 19. – 21. Februar 2021, 18:00–19:00

Klasse Willem de Rooij: Raum I7

Class Project, 19. Februar 2021

Rungdang

Veranstaltung, 19. – 21. Februar 2021, 16:00–20:00

Bani Abidi: Funland

Online Vortrag, 16. Februar 2021, 19:00

Olga Balema

Online Vortrag, 4. Februar 2021, 19:00

Henrike Naumann: Aesthetics of Power

Online Vortrag, 28. Januar 2021, 19:00

The Otolith Group: Infinity Minus Infinity

Online Vortrag, 21. Januar 2021, 19:00

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Vortrag, 19. Januar 2021, 19:00

Jason Mohaghegh: Dreams of the Last King

Online Vortrag, 12. Januar 2021, 19:00

Manuela Moscoso: Liverpool Biennial 2021

Online Vortrag19. Januar 2021, 19:00online
Teresa Solar, work in progress für den öffentlichen Skulpturenauftrag der LB21 Osteoclast, 2021, Materialien: Harz, mixed media, Foto: die Künstlerin.Teresa Solar, work in progress für den öffentlichen Skulpturenauftrag der LB21 Osteoclast, 2021, Materialien: Harz, mixed media, Foto: die Künstlerin.

In diesem Vortrag stellt Manuela Moscoso ihre Arbeit als Kuratorin der Liverpool Biennale 2021 vor und diskutiert ihre grundlegende Perspektive auf Kuratieren, Ausstellungsmachen und Produzieren im Kontext künstlerischer Praxis. Im Mittelpunkt der Liverpool Biennale 2021 steht die Frage nach dem Körper. Was ist ein Körper und was tut er? Was ist ein Mensch und welches Potenzial hat er? Der Fokus auf den Körper fordert unser Selbstverständnis als rationale, fest definierte, endliche Wesen heraus und schlägt stattdessen nicht-westliche Sichtweisen vor, um die Verflechtung von Körpern, Objekten, Umwelt und Geschichte zu verstehen. Der Titel der Liverpool Biennale The Stomach and the Port reflektiert über Systeme des Austauschs und darüber, dass Grenzen nicht nur geografische, sondern auch politische und subjektive Konstrukte sind, die das Ergebnis eines langen historischen Prozesses darstellen. Es handelt sich hierbei um einen Prozess der Aufteilung, der in der modernen, kolonialen Welt begann. Die Biennale widersetzt sich eben dieser aufgeteilten Ordnung und erinnert uns daran, dass unsere Leben miteinander verwoben sind.

Manuela Moscoso ist Kuratorin, Forscherin sowie kritische Produzentin von Ausstellungen, öffentlichen Programmen und Publikationen, die sie unabhängig oder für Organisationen in Europa und Lateinamerika konzipiert und durchführt. Sie war Senior-Kuratorin am Museo Tamayo in Mexiko-Stadt, Co-Direktorin von Capacete in Rio de Janeiro und ist derzeit Kuratorin der Liverpool Biennale 2021. Sie hat eine Reihe von Büchern und Essays veröffentlicht, darunter Thinking about it (Archive Books, 2014), Animal Que No Existe mit Daniel Steegmann Mangrané (Bom Dia Boa Tarde Boa Noite, 2015) und Hands Makes Mistakes mit Ariel Schlesinger (Roma Publications, 2019). Kollaboration ist grundlegend für ihre Praxis, da Moscoso davon überzeugt ist, dass Produktivität auf Beziehungen zu anderen beruht. Da sie sich eher als Kuratorin von Praktiken als von Objekten versteht, ist sie ständig auf der Suche nach neuen Ansätzen, um Arbeiten und Ideen zu erforschen, zu kreieren, zu denken, zu produzieren und zu verbreiten. Moscoso sieht eine wichtige Verbindung zwischen Kunst und Bildung und setzt sich für die Diversifizierung des Kunstsektors ein, indem sie eine breitere Repräsentation sicherstellt und für nicht-westliche Denksysteme eintritt.

Anmeldung

Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum