Graphic design: Sebastián Garbrecht, Isidora Gilardi, Kristina LovaasGraphic design: Sebastián Garbrecht, Isidora Gilardi, Kristina Lovaas

OPENING RECEPTION WITH BBQ & DRINKS: THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 02, 2021, FROM 7 PM

With Villiam Miklos Andersen, Rosario Aninat, Cudelice Brazelton IV, Ella CB, Alex Chalmers, Hyunjung Choi, Conrad, Anita Esfandiari, Agnese Galiotto, Lorenz Ganthaler, Sebastián Garbrecht, Isidora Gilardi, Graham Hamilton, Jordan/Martin Hell, So Yeon Kim, Mariam Kvirikashvili, Kristina Lovaas, Rudi Ninov, Gabriel Possamai, Dudu Quintanilha, Sara Rossi, Su Xia, Tomomi Yamakawa and Miran Yang

From the classes of Monika Baer, Gerard Byrne, Judith Hopf, Hassan Khan, Tobias Rehberger, Willem de Rooij, Haegue Yang and former professors Peter Fischli, Douglas Gordon, Laure Prouvost, Amy Sillman and Josef Strau as well as former guest professor Wu Tsang and former interim professor Nikolas Gambaroff

Under the title The Whistle, this year’s graduates of the Städelschule gather together as if sounding a common whistle. A closer look reveals the diverse range of meanings of the whistle in its ambivalence—between warning and wake-up call, the shrill signal of the referee, the political significance of whistleblowing, or the innocent accompaniment of a song.
In the context of such a simultaneously unifying and separating moment, 24 graduates from 14 nations show the complexity of their artistic practice. Presented in a vacant office building from the early 1970s, the paintings, sculptures, video works, drawings, photographs, and installations are the result of several years of study in the cross-disciplinary classes. The graduate exhibition is regarded as the formal and artistic culmination of studies at the Städelschule and is an exemplary reflection of its core: the free artistic work in the studios as well as the intensive exchange with their professors and fellow students.
The Whistle thus also stands for the image of a reflection on endings and beginnings.

The exhibition is curated by Il-Jin Atem Choi and Alke Heykes.

The Whistle is made possible by major support from Hessisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst. Significant support is provided by Allen & Overy LLP. Generous support is also provided by Graf von Westphalen, Sammlung Pohl gGmbH and Städelschule Portikus e.V.. Additional support comes from LBBW Immobilien Development GmbH und Solkim Art Handling.


INFORMATION FOR VISITORS

Opening hours
Tuesday–Sunday: 11 am – 6 pm
Free entry

Proof of negative test result (not older than 24 hours), vaccination or recovery required.

Guided tours
Guided exhibition tours with the curators are gladly organized upon request by e-mail: kunstkoordination@staedelschule.de.

Installation views on the home page: Ivan Murzin

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Grafikdesign: Sebastián Garbrecht, Isidora Gilardi, Kristina LovaasGrafikdesign: Sebastián Garbrecht, Isidora Gilardi, Kristina Lovaas

OPENING RECEPTION MIT BBQ & DRINKS: DONNERSTAG, 02. SEPTEMBER 2021, AB 19 UHR

Mit Villiam Miklos Andersen, Rosario Aninat, Cudelice Brazelton IV, Ella CB, Alex Chalmers, Hyunjung Choi, Conrad, Anita Esfandiari, Agnese Galiotto, Lorenz Ganthaler, Sebastián Garbrecht, Isidora Gilardi, Graham Hamilton, Jordan/Martin Hell, So Yeon Kim, Mariam Kvirikashvili, Kristina Lovaas, Rudi Ninov, Gabriel Possamai, Dudu Quintanilha, Sara Rossi, Su Xia, Tomomi Yamakawa und Miran Yang

Aus den Klassen von Monika Baer, Gerard Byrne, Judith Hopf, Hassan Khan, Tobias Rehberger, Willem de Rooij, Haegue Yang und den ehemaligen Professor*innen Douglas Gordon, Peter Fischli, Laure Prouvost, Amy Sillman, Josef Strau sowie der ehemaligen Gastprofessorin Wu Tsang und dem ehemaligen Interimsprofessor Nikolas Gambaroff.

Unter dem Titel The Whistle versammeln sich die diesjährigen Absolvent*innen der Städelschule als ein gemeinsamer Pfeifton. Bei genauerem Hinsehen offenbart sich das vielfältige Bedeutungsspektrum des Pfeifens in seiner Ambivalenz—zwischen Warnung und Weckruf, dem schrillen Signal des Schiedsrichters, der politischen Bedeutung des whistleblowing oder dem unbedarften Begleiten eines Liedes.
Im Rahmen eines solchen gleichzeitig verbindenden wie trennenden Moments zeigen 24 Absolventen*innen aus 14 Nationen die Vielschichtigkeit ihrer künstlerischen Praxis. Die in einem leerstehenden Bürogebäude aus den frühen 1970er Jahren präsentierten Malereien, Skulpturen, Videoarbeiten, Zeichnungen, Fotografien und Installationen sind das Ergebnis eines mehrjährigen Studiums in den disziplinübergreifenden Klassen. Die Absolventenausstellung gilt als formaler und künstlerischer Höhepunkt des Studiums an der Städelschule und spiegelt exemplarisch dessen Kern wider: die freie künstlerische Arbeit in den Studios sowie der intensive Austausch mit ihren Professor*innen und Kommiliton*innen.
The Whistle steht damit auch für das Bild einer Reflektion über Ende und Anfang.

Die Ausstellung wird kuratiert von Il-Jin Atem Choi und Alke Heykes.

The Whistle wird ermöglicht durch die großzügige Unterstützung des Hessischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst. Maßgebliche Unterstützung bietet Allen & Overy LLP sowie Graf von Westphalen, Sammlung Pohl gGmbH und Städelschule Portikus e.V.. Weitere Unterstützung kommt von der LBBW Immobilien Development GmbH und Solkim Art Handling.
 

INFORMATIONEN FÜR BESUCHER*INNEN

Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag–Sonntag: 11–18 Uhr
Freier Eintritt

Der Nachweis eines tagesaktuellen Testergebnisses, einer Impfung oder Genesung ist erforderlich.

Führungen
Geführte Ausstellungsrundgänge mit den Kuratoren werden gerne auf Anfrage per E-Mail organisiert:
 kunstkoordination@staedelschule.de

Installationsansichten auf der Startseite: Ivan Murzin

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum