Ongoing

Frankfurter Erklärung der Vielen

Information, 1 February 2019 – 1 February 2020

Upcoming: this month PreviousNext

Frida Orupabo: the mouth and the truth

Opening, 27 September 2019, 19:00

Archive: 2019 NextPrevious

Alia Farid: In Lieu of What Was

Opening, 19 July 2019, 19:00

Thom Mayne: Dean’s Honorary Lecture

Event, 26 June 2019, 19:00

Julia Haller: RAW

Lecture, 25 June 2019, 19:00

Tom McCarthy: Adventures of the Black Box

Lecture, 24 June 2019, 19:00

Air Conditioned. Graduate Exhibition 2019

Opening, 19 June 2019, 19:00

Städelschule Graduate Party 2019

Event, 19 June 2019, 23:00

Gaylen Gerber

Lecture, 5 June 2019, 19:00

Manuelle Gautrand: Beyond the programme

Lecture, 4 June 2019, 19:00

Anna Neimark: A Postconceptual Position

Lecture, 27 May 2019, 19:00

Wolfgang Tschapeller: On Architecture

Lecture, 9 May 2019, 19:00

Sandra Danicke and Kasper König

Lecture, 7 May 2019, 19:00

Dawn Kasper

Lecture, 2 May 2019, 19:00

Narratives in Boundless Space 

Opening, 1 May 2019, 18:00

Elijah Burgher: Artist's Talk

Lecture, 25 April 2019, 19:00

Heji Shin: Mom

Lecture, 16 April 2019, 19:00

Götz Stockmann: Erosion of Spatial Border

Lecture, 11 April 2019, 19:00

Rundgang Party 2019

Event, 15 February 2019, 22:00

Water Cooler Talks

Event, 15 – 16 February 2019

Rundgang 2019

Event, 15 – 17 February 2019

Tala Madani: Oven Light

Opening, 8 February 2019, 19:00

Michael Young: Fear of the Mediated Image

Lecture, 6 February 2019, 19:00

Hernan Diaz Alonso: Literal

Lecture, 23 January 2019, 19:00

Carsten Meyer

Lecture, 17 January 2019, 19:00

Johannes Helberger: KLING KLANG KLONG

Lecture, 16 January 2019, 19:00

Tim Griffin: Dispositions

Lecture, 15 January 2019, 19:00

Alia Farid: In Lieu of What Was

Opening19 July 2019, 19:00Portikus, Alte Brücke 2 / Maininsel, 60594 Frankfurt am Main

In Lieu of What Was is the first instutional exhibition by the Kuwaiti-Puerto Rican artist Alia Farid (b.1985) in Germany.

Visitors to the space will encounter a series of sculptures cast from molds used to fabricate the public drinking fountains that have become a distinctive aspect of the urban landscape of the Arabian Gulf. The fountains (and, in turn, Farid’s sculptures) follow the forms of various vessels that have been used to carry and store water, from a traditional clay pot to the now-ubiquitous plastic bottle. The vessels were chosen by the artist in thinking about one’s relationship to water in the desert, and the shifting ideas surrounding its scarcity that have accompanied the development of the oil-centered industry.

The exhibition is the starting point of a long-term investigation between Portikus and Staedelschule that examines life in the Anthropocene and the economic determinants for the exploitation of natural resources.

Fed by desalination plants, the drinking fountains function as contemporary stand-ins to village wells and other communal water sources, and as a tokenistic remembrance of the past. As a whole, In Lieu of What Was considers the use of water as a political tool throughout the region; for example, its role in the draining of the marshlands of Southern Iraq, the conservation and management of the Tigris and Euphrates Rivers across national borders, and the controlled retention of water from people and animals as a form of forced deportation. 

Through this spatial installation, Farid connects history, economic development, and material culture in a subtle yet compelling visualization of the ecological crisis in the Arabian Gulf and its relentless demands on nature.

Alia Farid lives and works in Kuwait and Puerto Rico, both countries that she is from and whose complex colonial histories she reveals through drawings, objects, spatial installations, and film. She has a Bachelor of Fine Arts from La Escuela de Artes Plásticas de Puerto Rico (San Juan), a Master of Science in Visual Studies from the Visual Arts Program at MIT (Cambridge, MA), and a Master of Arts in Museum Studies and Critical Theory from the Programa d’Estudis Independents at MACBA (Barcelona). Recent and upcoming group shows include participation in Sharjah Biennial 14, the 2nd Lahore Biennale, and Theater of Operations: The Gulf Wars 1991–2011 at MoMA PS1. Recent and upcoming solo exhibitions include Galerie Imane Farès (Paris), Witte de With (Rotterdam), and Swiss Institute (New York). 

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Ongoing

Frankfurter Erklärung der Vielen

Information, 1. Februar 2019 – 1. Februar 2020

Demnächst

Wintersemester 2019/2020

Information, 14. Oktober 2019

Archiv: 2019 NextPrevious

Alia Farid: In Lieu of What Was

Eröffnung, 19. Juli 2019, 19:00

Thom Mayne: Dean’s Honorary Lecture

Veranstaltung, 26. Juni 2019, 19:00

Julia Haller: RAW

Vortrag, 25. Juni 2019, 19:00

Tom McCarthy: Adventures of the Black Box

Vortrag, 24. Juni 2019, 19:00

Air Conditioned. Absolventenausstellung 2019

Eröffnung, 19. Juni 2019, 19:00

Städelschule Absolventenparty 2019

Veranstaltung, 19. Juni 2019, 23:00

Gaylen Gerber

Vortrag, 5. Juni 2019, 19:00

Manuelle Gautrand: Beyond the programme

Vortrag, 4. Juni 2019, 19:00

Michael Osman: Modernism’s Visible Hand

Vortrag, 29. Mai 2019, 19:00

Anna Neimark: A Postconceptual Position

Vortrag, 27. Mai 2019, 19:00

Florian Busch: The other side of the moon

Vortrag, 21. Mai 2019, 19:00

Wolfgang Tschapeller: On Architecture

Vortrag, 9. Mai 2019, 19:00

Sandra Danicke und Kasper König

Vortrag, 7. Mai 2019, 19:00

Symposium: Breaking Glass II – The Virtual Image

Veranstaltung, 4. Mai 2019, 11:00–17:00

Dawn Kasper: The Wolf and The Head on Fire

Eröffnung, 3. Mai 2019, 19:00

Dawn Kasper

Vortrag, 2. Mai 2019, 19:00

Narratives in Boundless Space 

Eröffnung, 1. Mai 2019, 18:00

Elijah Burgher: Artist's Talk

Vortrag, 25. April 2019, 19:00

Heji Shin: Mom

Vortrag, 16. April 2019, 19:00

Götz Stockmann: Erosion of Spatial Border

Vortrag, 11. April 2019, 19:00

Rundgang Party 2019

Veranstaltung, 15. Februar 2019, 22:00

Water Cooler Talks

Veranstaltung, 15. – 16. Februar 2019

Rundgang 2019

Veranstaltung, 15. – 17. Februar 2019

Tala Madani: Oven Light

Eröffnung, 8. Februar 2019, 19:00

Michael Young: Fear of the Mediated Image

Vortrag, 6. Februar 2019, 19:00

Hernan Diaz Alonso: Literal

Vortrag, 23. Januar 2019, 19:00

Carsten Meyer

Vortrag, 17. Januar 2019, 19:00

Johannes Helberger: KLING KLANG KLONG

Vortrag, 16. Januar 2019, 19:00

Tim Griffin: Dispositions

Vortrag, 15. Januar 2019, 19:00

Alia Farid: In Lieu of What Was

Eröffnung19. Juli 2019, 19:00Portikus, Alte Brücke 2 / Maininsel, 60594 Frankfurt am Main

In Lieu of What Was ist die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung der kuwaitisch-puerto-ricanischen Künstlerin Alia Farid (*1985) in Deutschland.

Im Raum begegnet man einer Gruppe großformatiger Skulpturen, die in den Formen zur Herstellung der öffentlichen Trinkwasserbrunnen in Kuwait gegossen wurden, welche mittlerweile das Stadtbild im Persischen Golf entscheidend prägen. Die Brunnen (und damit Farids Skulpturen) haben die Form unterschiedlicher Gefäße, die zum Transport und zur Aufbewahrung von Wasser dienen – vom traditionellen Tonkrug bis hin zur allgegenwärtigen Plastikflasche. Die Künstlerin wählte diese Behältnisse mit Blick auf die Beziehung zum Wasser in der Wüste und dem Wandel im Anbetracht der wachsenden Wasserknappheit, die mit dem Ausbau der ölzentrierten Industrie einhergeht.

Die Ausstellung bildet den Auftakt zu einem Rechercheprojekt zwischen der Künstlerin, dem Portikus und der Städelschule, das das Leben im Anthropozän und die entscheidenden wirtschaftlichen Faktoren für die Ausbeutung natürlicher Ressourcen untersucht.

Bespeist aus Entsalzungsanlagen fungieren die Trinkwasserbrunnen als Ersatz für Dorfbrunnen und andere gemeinschaftlich genutzte Wasserquellen und werden so zur zeichenhaften Reminiszenz an vergangene Zeiten. In Lieu of What Was beleuchtet die Rolle des Wassers als regional eingesetztes politisches Werkzeug, etwa bei der Trockenlegung der Sumpfgebiete im südlichen Irak, der Landesgrenzen überschreitenden Verwaltung der Flüsse Tigris und Euphrat und dem kontrollierten Wasserentzug, durch den Mensch und Tier Zwangsdeportationen ausgesetzt werden.

In der Installation verbindet Farid Geschichte, Wirtschaftsentwicklung und Kultur in einer subtilen, zugleich fesselnden Veranschaulichung der ökologischen Krise im Persischen Golf und ihre schier unnachgiebigen Forderungen an die Natur.

Alia Farid lebt und arbeitet in Kuwait und Puerto Rico, ihren beiden Herkunftsländern, deren komplexe Kolonialgeschichte sie in ihren Zeichnungen, Objekten, Rauminstallationen und Filmen offenbart. Sie absolvierte einen Bachelor of Fine Arts an der Escuela de Artes Plásticas de Puerto Rico (San Juan), einen Master of Science in Visual Studies im Rahmen des Visual Arts Program am MIT (Cambridge, MA) und einen Master of Arts in Museum Studies and Critical Theory im Rahmen des Programa d’Estudis Independents am MACBA (Barcelona). Zu ihren jüngsten und kommenden Gruppenausstellungen zählen die Sharjah Biennale 14, die 2. Lahore Biennale und die Ausstellung Theater of Operations: Theater of Operations: The Gulf Wars 1991–2011 im MoMA PS1. Aktuelle und kommende Einzelpräsentationen finden in der Galerie Imane Farès (Paris), im Witte de With (Rotterdam) und im Swiss Institute (New York) statt.

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum