This Board does not reflect the official opinion of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule.This Board does not reflect the official opinion of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule. This Board does not reflect the official opinion of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule. 
Judith Hopf, Untitled (Blade of Gras), 2020, metal and concrete, 298 x 49,5 x 122 cmJudith Hopf, Untitled (Blade of Gras), 2020, metal and concrete, 298 x 49,5 x 122 cm

FABLES OF RESURRECTION

until August 8, 2020

Judith Hopf
Maryam Hoseini
Yong Xiang Li
Aileen Murphy
Eric Sidner
Amalia Ulman

The exhibition Fables of Resurrection manifests a kaleidoscopic snapshot of experiences that oscillate between arrest and an excess of agency. Conveying phantasmagorical states, the works in this exhibition weave together modes of storytelling to think about different relationships between the individual and social body.

Such a reflection on the interrelation between corporality and temporality can inevitably be read as one about the current “Virus-Time”: the replacement of an illusion of a common, global world with discontinuous and isolated realities; the provocation of “a temporality that’s not only plotless but has no end in sight.”(*)

Fables of Resurrection frames these experiences within economic deferrals that have promoted competition and risk instead of stability, security and compassion, and have intensified social asymmetries. Questions about political subjectivity and social transformation in particular draw on the often-romanticized role of art and the artist: what are the narrative potentials in the face of such overdetermined conditions?

The exhibition showcases new and seminal works by artists of the gallery Judith Hopf, Amalia Ulman, Eric Sidner and Aileen Murphy, as well as works by New York-based painter Maryam Hoseini and the Frankfurt-based artist Yong Xiang Li.

(*) John Kelsey “VIRUS-TIME”, Artforum, MAY/JUNE 2020, VOL. 58, NO. 9

DEBORAH SCHAMONI  
Mauerkircherstr. 186    
81925 München

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Dieses Board stellt nicht die offizielle Meinung der Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule dar.Dieses Board stellt nicht die offizielle Meinung der Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule dar. Dieses Board stellt nicht die offizielle Meinung der Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule dar. 
Judith Hopf, Untitled (Blade of Gras), 2020, metal and concrete, 298 x 49,5 x 122 cmJudith Hopf, Untitled (Blade of Gras), 2020, metal and concrete, 298 x 49,5 x 122 cm

FABLES OF RESURRECTION

bis 08.08.2020

Judith Hopf
Maryam Hoseini
Yong Xiang Li
Aileen Murphy
Eric Sidner
Amalia Ulman

Die Ausstellung Fables of Resurrection zeigt eine kaleidoskopartige Momentaufnahme von Erfahrungen, die zwischen Stillstand und Handlungsexzess schwanken. Die Werke in der Ausstellung verweben Formen der Narrativbildung, um Beziehungen zwischen dem individuellen und sozialen Körper in traumähnlichen Zuständen zu denken.

Eine solche Reflektion über das Verhältnis zwischen Körperlichkeit und Zeitlichkeit liest sich unweigerlich auch als eine über die gegenwärtige “Virus-Zeit”: dem Ersetzen der Illusion einer geteilten, globalen Welt durch diskontinuierliche und isolierte Realitäten; der Provokation einer Zeitlichkeit der es an Handlungssträngen und Dramaturgie fehlt.(*)

Fables of Resurrection, im Deutschen “Märchen über das Wiedererwachen”, setzt diese Erfahrungen in Beziehung zu ökonomischen Verschiebungen, die Wettbewerb und Risiko anstelle von Stabilität, Sicherheit und Mitgefühl anregen und soziale Asymmetrien verschärfen. Fragen zu politischer Subjektivität und gesellschaftlicher Transformation setzen dabei speziell bei der oft romantisieren Rolle der Kunst und der KünstlerIn an: Was für erzählerische Möglichkeiten bestehen angesichts solch überbestimmter Verhältnisse?

Die Ausstellung zeigt neue und historische Arbeiten von KünstlerInnen der Galerie, Judith Hopf, Amalia Ulman, Eric Sidner und Aileen Murphy, sowie erstmals in München gezeigte Werke der in New York lebenden Malerin Maryam Hoseini und des in Frankfurt lebenden Künstlers Yong Xiang Li.

(*) John Kelsey “VIRUS-TIME”, Artforum, MAY/JUNE 2020, VOL. 58, NO. 9

DEBORAH SCHAMONI  
Mauerkircherstr. 186    
81925 München

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum