This Board does not reflect the official opinion of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule.This Board does not reflect the official opinion of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule. This Board does not reflect the official opinion of the Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule. 

a skeleton, just like the rest of us

Anders Dickson, Berenice Güttler, Andy Hope 1930, Yein Lee, Justin Lieberman, Nadia Perlov, Kristina Schmidt, Frank Stürmer

curated by Franziska Linhardt

Opening: 23.10.2020

The exhibition a skeleton, just like the rest of us* harbours affection for a world that does not necessarily have to be “our” world, and draws attention to the connectivities between humans, animals, plants, aliens—entities, connectivities that are subtle and call into question hierarchies. As an alien, Darth Vader is always already defined by his “otherness”.** He is only allowed to come to “our” world if he can demonstrate productive qualities that justify his temporary stay.*** (Science-)Fiction then, just like collective and personal nightmares, dreams or anecdotes, is not an escape to another world, but rather can be used as a tool to probe past, present or future scenarios.****

On this planet, the only one that is—still—habitable, we are all housemates with a shared bathroom. Perhaps the dog had more fun taking a walk with the drone while its supposed companion species***** was stuck in lock-down. But even if we must disengage and bury ourselves under many layers, our shells can only ever be as hard and protective as technologies always seem autonomous and detached from history. Such skeletons and special abilities may be of cloned nature, revealing them as just one among many.

* Pagan on Star: “You know what Darth Vader looks like beneath that mask? He’s a skeleton. Just like the rest of us.” Andrea Arnold: American Honey [Film], 2016, 163 min.
** Vivian Sobchack: Postfuturism, in: The Gendered Cyborg: A Reader, 1987/2000, p. 136–147; Rosi Braidotti: Nomadic Subjects: Embodiment and Sexual Difference in Contemporary Feminist Theory, 2011.
*** “Alien of extraordinary ability” is a classification applied by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, in order to grant non-US citizens with extraordinary talents either temporary or permanent residence status in the US.
**** Ursula K. Le Guin: The Left Hand of Darkness, 1967.
***** Donna Haraway, When Species Meet, 2007.

Text: Franziska Linhardt
translated by Jennifer Leetsch

GALERIE CHRISTINE MAYER
Liebigstraße 39
80538 München

This website uses cookies. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Imprint and Legal Information

Dieses Board stellt nicht die offizielle Meinung der Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule dar.Dieses Board stellt nicht die offizielle Meinung der Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule dar. Dieses Board stellt nicht die offizielle Meinung der Hochschule für Bildende Künste–Städelschule dar. 

a skeleton, just like the rest of us

Anders Dickson, Berenice Güttler, Andy Hope 1930, Yein Lee, Justin Lieberman, Nadia Perlov, Kristina Schmidt, Frank Stürmer

kuratiert von Franziska Linhardt

Eröffnung: 23.10.2020

Die Ausstellung a skeleton, just like the rest of us* hegt Zuneigung für eine Welt, die nicht immer „unsere“ Umwelt sein muss, und legt die Aufmerksamkeit auf die subtile und Hierarchien hinterfragende Verbundenheit zwischen Menschen, Tieren, Pflanzen, Aliens – Entitäten. Als Alien ist Darth Vader immer von seiner „Andersartigkeit“** bestimmt. Auf „unserer“ Welt darf er nur landen, wenn er produktive Qualitäten ausweist, die seinen befristeten Aufenthalt begründen.*** (Science-)Fiction stellt, wie kollektive und individuelle (Alp-)Träume und Anekdoten, dann keine Flucht in eine andere Welt dar, sondern kann als Werkzeug benutzt werden, um vergangene, gegenwärtige oder zukünftige Szenarien auszutesten.****

Auf diesem bisher einzigen – noch – bewohnbaren Planeten sind wir alle Mitbewohner_innen mit geteiltem Bad. Vielleicht hatte der Hund auch mehr Freude daran mit der Drohne spazieren zu gehen, während sein_e vermeintliche Gefährt_in***** im Lock Down saß. Doch selbst, wenn wir uns abdocken müssen und unter vielen Schichten begraben, sind unsere Panzer nur so abgrenzend hart, wie Techniken immer autonom und von der Geschichte losgelöst scheinen. Die Skelette und speziellen Fähigkeiten können geklonter Natur sein und enttarnen sie als Wesen unter vielen. 

* Pagan zu Star: „You know what Darth Vader looks like beneath that mask? He’s a skeleton. Just like the rest of us.” Andrea Arnold: American Honey [Film], 2016, 163 min.
** Vivian Sobchack: Postfuturism, in: The Gendered Cyborg: A Reader, 1987/2000, S. 136–147; Rosi Braidotti: Nomadic Subjects: Embodiment and Sexual Difference in Contemporary Feminist Theory, 2011.
*** „Alien of extraordinary ability“ ist eine Klassifizierung der United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, um nicht-US-Bürger_innen mit außergewöhnlichen Fähigkeiten einen vorübergehenden oder permanenten Aufenthalt in den USA zu erlauben.
**** Ursula K. Le Guin: The Left Hand of Darkness, 1967.
***** Donna Haraway, When Species Meet, 2007.

Text: Franziska Linhardt

GALERIE CHRISTINE MAYER
Liebigstraße 39
80538 München

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseite akzeptieren Sie die Verwendung von Cookies.
Impressum